It’s an @OrendaBooks #CoverReveal: You Can’t See Me by Eva Björg Ægisdóttir tr. Victoria Cribb #YouCantSeeMe #ForbiddenIceland #FamilyReunion

Hi and welcome to the cover reveal of You Can’t See Me!

You Can’t See Me is the chilling prequel to the fantastic Forbidden Iceland series by Eva Björg Ægisdóttir. It will be translated from Icelandic by Victoria Cribb, who has translated more than 25 novels from the Icelandic, among which Eva’s previous books.

In a nutshell, You Can’t See Me is about a wealthy Icelandic family that is investigated and dark secrets that are exposed when a body is found on the lava fields outside the hotel where they’ve gathered for a reunion. I absolutely love the sound of it and it is my absolute honour to reveal its beautiful cover here today!

Let’s start with a look at the blurb:

The wealthy, powerful Snæberg clan has gathered for a family reunion at a futuristic hotel set amongst the dark lava flows of Iceland’s remote Snæfellsnes peninsula.
Petra Snæberg, a successful interior designer, is anxious about the event, and her troubled teenage daughter, Lea, whose social-media presence has attracted the wrong kind of followers. Ageing carpenter Tryggvi is an outsider, only tolerated because he’s the boyfriend of Petra’s aunt, but he’s struggling to avoid alcohol because know what happens when he drinks … Humble hotel employee, Irma, is excited to meet this rich and famous family and observe them at close quarters … perhaps too close…
As the weather deteriorates and the alcohol flows, one of the guests disappears, and it becomes clear that there is a prowler lurking in the dark.
But is the real danger inside … within the family itself?
Masterfully cranking up the suspense, Eva Björg Ægisdóttir draws us into an isolated, frozen setting, where nothing is as it seems and no one can be trusted, as the dark secrets and painful pasts of the Snæberg family are uncovered … and the shocking truth revealed.

Surely you need some more info about the author before you see the cover!

Born in Akranes in 1988, Eva moved to Trondheim, Norway to study her MSc in Globalisation when she was 25. After moving back home having completed her MSc, she knew it was time to start working on her novel. Eva has wanted to write books since she was 15 years old, having won a short story contest in Iceland. Eva worked as a stewardess to make ends meet while she wrote her first novel, The Creak on the Stairs. The book went on to win the CWA Debut Dagger, the Blackbird Award, was shortlisted (twice) for the Capital Crime Readers’ Awards, and became a number one bestseller in Iceland. The critically acclaimed Girls Who Lie (book two in the Forbidden Iceland series) soon followed, with Night Shadows (book three) following suit. You Can’t See Me (book four) is out in 2023. Eva lives with her husband and three children in Reykjavík.

How about a publication date?

You Can’t See Me will be out in digital formats and paperback on the 6th of July.

Right, that’s all the practical stuff out of the way!

After everything I told you, now it’s time to show you, isn’t it!

Wait For It Lol GIF by Shalita Grant - Find & Share on GIPHY

Snl Going To Be Good GIF by Saturday Night Live - Find & Share on GIPHY

Season 1 Episode 3 GIF by NBC - Find & Share on GIPHY


Isn’t it beautiful and deeply atmospheric?! I can’t wait to read it! Pre-order it directly from Orenda Books here.

Find out more about Eva Björg Ægisdóttir’s Forbidden Iceland series: The Creak on the Stairs, Girls Who Lie and Night Shadows.

2 Responses

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *